Digital Games Research
ECREA Section
Trans-Atlantic Game Talks #2

With the utmost pleasure, we would like to announce our second installment of our chat series “Trans-Atlantic Game Talks”!

We plan to host the first session on Tuesday, 17th of April at 4 p.m. GMT (11 a.m. U.S. Eastern Time, 6 p.m. in Helsinki) for about 90 minutes. This second session will focus on “Games Research Methods” including practice of study designs, qualitative analyses, physiological and other responses to digital game playing. The session will feature psychologist Niklas Ravaja, professor of social psychology of information and communication technologies at the University of Helsinki.

We are excited about the ongoing cooperative efforts between ECREA’S Digital Games Research and ICA’s Games Studies section to foster community and collaboration between games researchers worldwide! Just like the first TAG Talk, it will take place on Google+ through the “Hangout” function. Just create an account on G+ (if you don’t have one already), add the ICA Game Studies Interest Group to your circles, and be there on time so we can invite you to the video chat!

We are hoping that some ICA and ECREA members are interested, but we also need to coordinate participation due to the hangouts’ limits of ten simultaneous participants. If you are interested, please register for the event at our Facebook group or email to icagames[at]icagames[dot]org, so we can determine how to accommodate everyone. Also, let us know if you’d like to attend the whole session or just “drop in” for 20-30 minutes, because if there is a lot of interest we may schedule people for blocks of time if there is a lot of interest.

If the second TAG Talk is a success, we’ll be sure to organize a third one after the ICA conference in May. Hope to see you hanging out soon!