Digital Games Research
ECREA Section
Trans-Atlantic Game Talks


Want to “hang out” online with games researchers? If so, read about a new chat series below and let us know!

As the 2012 conference approaches, we are excited to announce a cooperative effort with the ICA’s Games Studies section to foster community and collaboration between games researchers worldwide. The plan is for members to a series of informal Google+ “Hangouts” (tentatively titled “Trans-Atlantic Game Talks” due to the two organizations’ headquarters locations) through a new Google+ site.

We plan to host the first session on Tuesday, 6 March at 4 p.m. GMT (11 a.m. U.S. Eastern Time, Midnight Singapore) for about 90 minutes. The first session will focus on “Risks, Challenges, and Chances” including game effects concerns, but also opportunities, etc. The session will feature psychologist Chris Ferguson, who is making his first trip to ICA this year and who is eager to meet some members in advance before the conference.

We are hoping that some ICA and ECREA members are interested, but we also need to coordinate participation due to the hangouts’ limits of ten simultaneous participants. If you are interested, please let us know on the Facebook group or email to icagames[at]icagames[dot]org, so we can determine how to accommodate everyone. Also, let us know if you’d like to attend the whole session or just “drop in” for 20-30 minutes, because if there is a lot of interest we may schedule people for blocks of time if there is a lot of interest.

If the first hangout chat is a success, we’ll invite members to host sessions to be scheduled every few weeks. Hope to see you hanging out soon!